2018 Light in Motion Winners


The 2020 Foyle Film Festival will take place from Friday 20th to Sunday 29th November in Derry-Londonderry.

The prestigious Light In Motion (LIM) competition, sponsored by City of Derry Crystal, reopens to filmmakers and animators across the world on Friday 3rd April 2020.

The three competition categories under Light In Motion 2020 are:

·       Best Irish Short

·       Best International Short

·       Best Animation

Recipients of the LIM Awards qualify for consideration in the Live Action and Animated Short Film categories of the Academy Awards® without needing the standard theatrical run. Foyle Film Festival is also an IMDb Qualifying Festival, granting all eligible film submissions a fast-tracked title page on IMDb.com.

Previous Foyle Film Festival winners and competitors who have proceeded to win the Oscar® include: Terry George for The Shore (2012), Martin McDonagh for Six Shooter (2006), Andrea Arnold for Wasp (2004), Adam Elliot for Harvie Krumpet (2003), and Eric Armstrong for Chubbchubbs (2002).

The success continued with 2018 Oscar nominations for LIM Award finalist The Silent Child directed by Chris Overton and 2018 BAFTA award in Short Animation for LIM Award finalist Poles Apart directed by Paloma Baeza and Ser En Low.

Funded by the Department for Communities through Northern Ireland Screen, by Derry City and Strabane District Council and Tourism NI; Foyle Film Festival delivers a comprehensive programme of documentaries, short films and feature films from all over the world; a full programme of educational events for schools, youth, and adults and a variety of industry networking events and panel discussions.

The Festival is the flagship project of the Nerve Centre, Northern Ireland’s leading creative media arts centre which delivers a diverse range of cutting edge projects, training and production opportunities, state of the art production facilities and creative learning centres in Belfast and Derry-Londonderry.

Competitors are required to read through the Festival Rules & Regulations in full before submission

By submitting to Foyle Film Festival it is mutually understood that competitors are bound to abide by the rules and regulations of the Festival and that they have pre-cleared all materials that comprise the film, as an authorised holder of the intellectual property of the work.

Festival Rules & Regulations

Ms. Eavan King, Competition Manager. Foyle Film Festival, Nerve Centre, 7-8 Magazine Street, Derry~Londonderry, BT48 6HJ

T: 028 71373456, E: e.king@nervecentre.org