028 7137 3456

LIM Competition





The 3 Competition Categories for 2017:

- Best Irish Short

- Best International Short

- Best Animation

Recipients of the Light In Motion (LIM) Awards qualify for consideration in the Short Films Category of the Annual Academy® Awards without the standard theatrical run. Since 1999, the Foyle film Festival (FFF) has been an Oscar® affiliated festival - one of only a handful of festivals to enjoy this honour. In 2009 the FFF joined the list of BAFTA-recognised festivals.

Consequently, Short Films and Short Animations which either screen or are accepted to screen as part of the LIM Film Awards at FFF can be submitted for consideration to the Short Film Awards at BAFTA. For further details please visit While independently funded British feature films (fiction and documentary) screening at FFF qualify for consideration in the British Independent Film Awards. For further details please log on to

Previous Foyle Film Festival winners and competitors who have proceeded to win the Oscar® include: Terry George for The Shore 2012, Martin McDonagh for Six Shooter in 2006, Andrea Arnold for Wasp in 2004, Adam Elliot for Harvie Krumpet in 2003, and Eric Armstrong for Chubbchubbs in 2002.

Other festival award winners who received Oscar® nomination include 2014 Winner Talkon Hamzavi for Parvaneh, 2012 finalist Bryan Buckley for Asad, Michael Creagh’s The Crush, LIM Award Winner in Irish Short in 2009; Juanita Wilson for The Door, recipient of LIM Award for Best International Short 2008. 2008 Best Animation Winner Fabrice O. Joubert for French Roast, also received an Oscar® nod.

In the animation category, 2014 finalist Bear Story and 2013 finalist Mr Hublot both proceeded to win the Oscar® for Best Short Animation the following year. The winner of Best Animation in 2011 at Foyle Film Festival A Morning Stroll directed by Grant Orchard was nominated at the 2012 Annual Academy Awards®. 2012 finalist Here to Fall directed by Evelyn McGrath was nominated for a BAFTA award in animation in 2013.

Another 2012 finalist Macropolis by Joel Simon went on to win the IFTA for Best Animation in 2013. In 2014 LIM Award Winner for Best Short Film Parvaneh and Best Animation Winner The Dam Keeper went on to be nominated for an Oscar®.

The success continues in 2017 with BAFTA nominations for FFF 2016 LIM Award finalist Standby directed by Charlotte Regan, and LIM Animation finalist The Alan Dimension directed by Jac Clinch also receiving a nomination for Best Short Animation.

Competition entries close Friday 15 September 2017. 
Extended WAB deadline closes Friday 29 September 2017.

All entries must be submitted through

For further details contact the Competition Manager Eavan King (

The 30th Foyle Film Festival is scheduled to take place from Friday 17 - Sunday 26 November 2017.